Month: November 2007

  • Do you think people are inherently good or bad?

    There is no inherent good at all in man.  To assume people have any inherent good tends toward the Arminian heresy.  God did originally call us, one of his created beings, good because He assigned His Creation good. (Genesis 1).   However, inherently, that is, in and of themselves, all people are bad (i.e, unrighteous) due to the Fall, which rendered Adam and his successors as no longer having any "virtue of the kind of of thing it is".  After the Fall, our only "virtue" was that we were children of wrath with inherent bad to the extent of total depravity, and even later, the Lord God "repented" from having made humans (Genesis 6:6-7).   Even when the person saved, that goodness (righteousness) is not inherent but entirely foreign and imputed from the inherent goodness of the only Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.  As He Himself said clearly, "Why callest me thou good?  There is none good but one, that is, God." (Mk 10:18, cf Ps 53:1-3)

    I just answered this Featured Question, you can answer it too!

  • My Sung Ode to the Outer Banks

    (Tune:  the old Latvian SSR anthem, by A. Lepina)

     

    1.

    From Blackbeard’s haunt to Hatteras Light

    Through Pea’s Refuge to Wrights’ Hill of First Flight

    The Outer Banks rose from th’azure main

    And gave Carolina her seaborne crown

     

    Curfa:

    God graced these wond’rous Banks with Mercy and Beauty,

    far more than is ever deserved from Him!

     

    2.

    Through stormy gale and fierce hurricane

    The islands stand though tempest has raged

    God sheltered her brave citizens through trial

    Even when Isabel made a new inlet.

     

    (Curfa)

     

    3.

    (3rd verse in process)

     

    (Curfa 2X)

     

    Tune link:  http://folk.ntnu.no/makarov/temporary_url_20070929kldcg/anthem-ssr-latvian-instr-1968.mp3

     

     

  • The loss of a good friend (my grandfather)

     I am already experiencing a heavy week. My grandfather Billy passed last night (Sunday night). I have a lot of good memories of him and am very grateful to the Lord for his life as he a Christian was a devoted family man and true gentleman often to the point of sacrificing of his own time and possessions and was very physically active until he turned 80. One memory was Sunday lunch as a child when he would take one or two of my grandmother's homemade biscuits, put a delicious butter-syrup (King's Syrup) mixture on it, and give it to his grandchildren (my sister, my 2 cousins, and I) as a special after-dinner treat. Then of course, there was the time he let me drive his truck around the block when I was 12, and I accidentally took out the neighbor's mailbox.