23/06/2008

  • Weekend Dreams

    It seems that if I think about something deeply or have a conversation on it during the day, it forms the substance of some of my dreams.   When I and Christian friend visited an older Christian friend in the hospital, the older friend (also keen on aviation) asked me how a wing makes an airplane fly.   So, I explained wind speed, angle of attack, and Total Pressure as it relates to an airfoil shape (the wing cross-section shape) and how those 3 things provide lift to the wing.   Fighter planes (F-14, F-15, F-18, F-35, and F-4) entered the conversation later in addition to the reconnoissance plane SR-71.   After the hospital visit, my friend and I left and went to his home for fellowship.   His niece is very interested in aviation and showed my styrofoam and balsa wood planes she had, and we played with the planes and discussed how they fly (in children's terms).  She also shared about their visit to the Air & Space Museum at Dulles, VA.   The museum as a real SR-71 in addition to Space Shuttle, Concorde, and other planes.

    I had a dream about flight on Saturday night:

    1.  I was flying in an SR-71 (the fastest plane in the world at an unclassified speed of Mach 3) at the perfect vertical perpendicular to the Earth's surface.   I don't remember it landing or crashing.

    2.  I was flying in an F-15 Eagle fighter jet (the fastest American fighter) as a tourist in a sightseeing flight.  The pilot weaved through very steep and very narrow canyons and passed an SR-71 heading the opposite direction within the same canyon and at the same altitude.    The pilot was too high on the final approach, landed at the runway's mid-length (overshoot), and had to veer right into the short grass to avoid running into a highway and nearby spectators.

Comments (4)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment